top of page

Roasted Red Pepper & Tortellini Soup


Looking for a filling & delicious soup? Check out this recipe!

This roasted red pepper & sausage soup is packed full of delicious flavours & ingredients. Easy to make, this soup takes just about 30 minutes to come together. It's PERFECT for meal prep (see my note at the bottom) & is so tasty on a cold, dreary day.

I'm planning on trying this this weekend minus the flour & adding coconut milk instead - so I'll keep you posted how it goes!

Also, if pasta is not your jam, skip it for a lower carb option. I find the tortellini gives it a nice touch but that's just me!

I hope you enjoy this soup - it's the definition of a hug in a bowl 😊

Ro

Ingredients

- 1 lb crumbled spicy Italian sausage (I love using Jonhsonville brand)

- 1 large onion, diced

- 3 cloves garlic, minced

- 1/2 cup roasted red peppers, drained, rinsed and chopped

- 3 tbsp flour

- 4 cups chicken broth

- 1 - 24 oz jar pasta sauce (I love using Classico Roasted Red Pepper in this recipe)

- 1 - 14 oz can Rotel (or use regular tomatoes if you're watching the spice level)

- 1 tsp salt & pepper

- 2 tsp Italian seasoning

- 2 cups milk of your choice (I used 1% milk)

- 1 - 700 gram package fresh tortellini, prepared

Directions

1. In a large soup pot, brown sausage, onion and roasted red peppers over medium high heat until cooked through and golden brown, about 6-8 minutes. Add in minced garlic and saute for 2 minutes more until fragrant.

2. Lower heat to medium and stir in flour. Use a whisk to mix constantly for 1-2 minutes.

3. Begin to pour in stock 1 cup at a time, continuing to whisk to remove any lumps. Continue to add in stock by the cup, whisking until mixture is smooth before adding in the rest of the stock.

4. Stir in pasta sauce and tomatoes. Add in spices and stir.

5. Bring mixture up to simmer and let it hang out for 10-15 minutes. Adjust seasonings if you wish!

6. Next, stir in milk and continue to simmer until the flavours have come together.

7. To serve, place a few warm tortellini in a bowl and ladle in desired amount of soup on top*. Serve warm & enjoy!

Notes:

* I ALWAYS make the pasta/rice part of my soup separately and add it in as I plan to enjoy it. Cooking it in the sauce allows for the pasta to soak up ALL the broth and creates more of a stew (not my thing). Prepare pasta ahead of time and add the desired amount to your bowl of soup. This works great for meal prep!


bottom of page