top of page

Zuppa Toscana Soup


Well hello! I've had many followers request some healthy & hearty soups so I figured I'd share a few of my most favourite recipes with you!

Soup is easily one of my favourite meals. It's warm, comforting and it's like giving your stomach a nice big hug! Plus, it's a great way to eat your vegetables, is fairly simple to make and is GREAT for meal prep! I usually make a big batch of soup on Sunday's that lasts all week for lunches.

Kicking off Soup Week is one of my faves! I was already leery to make this because I was sure it would be full of calories. While it's not the lightest soup there is, it's really SO tasty, creamy & down right yummy! Try it and let me know if you love it as much as I do!

Zuppa Toscana Soup

1 pound mild Italian sausage

1 medium onion, chopped

2 tablespoon flour

1 carton chicken broth (4 cups)

5 large potatoes, peeled and diced

1 head kale, chopped (5-6 cups) and stem removed ***

2 cups 1% milk ***

seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic, red chili flake), to taste

Brown sausage in soup pot. Add onion and sautee until golden brown. Add in seasonings to your liking. Stir in flour and cook for 1-2 minutes to burn off that flour taste. Add chicken broth slowly, stirring to remove any lumps. Add in potatoes and cook until tender (15-20 minutes). Next add it chopped kale and milk. Cook on low heat for 5 minutes.

***I like to undercook my kale a little if I'm planning on saving this for lunches during the week. That way it still has a bit of crunch and doesn't go soggy.

***If you'd prefer to use cream instead, use only 1 tablespoon of flour

bottom of page